## 9<sup>th</sup> National Council of BDERM



## 9th National Council of Bangladesh Dalit and Excluded Rights Movement (BDERM)

Bangladesh Dalit and Excluded Rights Movement (BDERM) 9th National Council held on 15 December, 2018 in Dhaka. Renowned writer Ms. Selina Hossain was present as Chief Guest in the inaugural session of the council. Abdur Razzak Hawlader, Director, Directorate of Social Services; Mukul Ranjan Shikder, former president of BDERM and Zakir Hossain, advisor of BDERM and chief executive of Nagorik Uddyog were present as special guests. Total 155 representatives from 32 districts attended to the national council.

Ms. Selina Hossain said that no sustainable development is possible keeping the disadvantaged segment of the society behind, which clearly reflected in the main slogan of SDGs "No One Leaving Behind". We have to remind the government of Bangladesh to include the dalit population in its development agenda and targeted interventions to improve the lives of the Dalit people. The government of Bangladesh is hesitant to mention the Dalit identity rather saying that backward section of population, which may mislead the recognition and identifying the Dalit community. She urged that government should recognize the Dalit as separate category and prepare segregated data based. Abdur Razzak Hawlader informed government initiatives especially, how the social safety net programme contributed bringing in positive changes in the lives of Dalit community. Zakir Hossian demanded that the government should enact anti-discrimination act without delay to keep the government commitment and to protect rights of the Dalit and other marginalized communities.





In the working session of the council the general secretary of BDERM presented the annual report to the council, 35 representatives from different districts participated in the discussions on the presented report and highlighted their yearlong activities and problems they are facing at the community level.

BDERM outgoing general secretary Bibhutosh Roy proposed the names of BDERM new committee members for approval. After discussions a 21 members committee has been elected unanimously for years terms as national executive committee. As per BDERM statute, the elected national executive committee meets immediately after the councils, where they elected Ms. Moni Rani Das as president and Mr. Uttam Kumar Bhakta as general secretary, other members have given the different roles in the committee. Here is the full committee list and their portfolio in the National Executive Committee.

## **BDERM National Executive Committee**

SI.	Name	Designation
1	Ms. Moni Rani Das	President
2	Mr. Bibhutosh Roy	Vice-President
3	Ms. Anima Rani Mandol	Vice-President
4	Mr. Uttam Kumar Bhakta	General Secretary
5	Ms. Banani Biswas	Joint General Secretary
6	Mr. Rajendra Kumar Das	Joint General Secretary
7	Mr. Manindra Nath Biswas	Cashier
8	Mr. Bheempalli David Raju	Organizing Secretary
9	Mr. Kailash Robidas	Joint Organizing Secretary
10	Mr. Subrato Kumar Mistry	Publication and Publicity Secretary
11	Advocate Narayan Charmakar	Information & Research Secretary
12	Advocate Babul Robidas	Secretary of Legal Affairs
13	Ms. Joyonti Rani Das	Secretary of Women Affairs
14	Mr. DilipBashfor	Secretary of Cultural Affairs
15	Bramhanath Thakur	Secretary of Environmental Affairs
16	Ms. Tamanna Singh Baraik	Secretary of International Affairs
17	Mr. Shopon Kumar Dey	Secretary of Education & Literature Affairs
18	Shipon Kumar Robidas	Secretary of Students & Youth Affairs
19	Mr. Sunil Kumar Mridha	Executive Member
20	Ms. Shova Rani Baroi	Executive Member
21	Mr. Krishna Lala	Executive Member

Website: bderm-bd.org