

LUCKNOW | Tuesday, January 19, 2010 | Print | Close

## **UP Legislative Council to get its first dalit Chairman**

## Pioneer News Service | Lucknow

After an illustrious career of 124 year the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council also known as Vidhan Parishad is all set to get its first dalit Chairman in form of former minister Kamla Kant Gautam who had been already appointed as protem Chairman.

After the splendid performance in the recently concluded Legislative Council elections in which the ruling BSP wrested 34 out of 36 seats it also obtained the majority in 100 member House with 56 BSP members in it. The present incumbent and SP member Chaudhri Sukhram Singh Yadav ceased to exist as Chairman as his tenure came to an end on January 15. Kamla Kant Gautam who served as the Finance Minister when Mayawati Government was formed on May 13, 2007 has been appointed as protem Chairman and it is believed once House sets into he will be formally elected as its Chairman.

The UP Legislative Council which came into being in 1887 has got its first dalit Leader of the House in 1972 in form of Baldev Singh Arya. The credit of becoming the first dalit Leader of the Opposition in the Vidhan Parishad went to Maharni Dohrey of the Congress who occupied the post in 1994.

The UP Legislative had several distinguished personalities as its member including the first Prime Minister of Pakistan Liyaqat Ali Khan who served the august House between 1921 and 1935. Nawab Sir Mohammad Ahmad Saeed Chhatari who headed the first interim government in the Uttar Pradesh in 1936 also served the House between 1931 and 1935.

The first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant and his successor Dr Sampurnanand were also the member of the Legislative Council bewteen 1925-29 and 1927-29 respectively. While the present Chief Minister Mayawati is also the member of this House the former chief ministers including Sucheta Kraplani, Chandra Bhanu Gupta, N.D. Tiwari, Sripati Mishra and Ram Prakash Gupta were also the members of the House on different occasions. The former prime minister Vishwanath Pratap Singh was also the member of the House though for a brief period.

© CMYK Printech Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without written permission is prohibited. Email Pioneer Syndication Services at info@dailypioneer.com for reprinting rights | Email comments to feedback@dailypioneer.com

1 af 1 29-01-2010 13:50